Rainbow Pasta Salad

Well I finally realized that if I don’t write this recipe down  that I might never find it again.

My cousin Jody is famous for her pasta salad. I made it today with a bit of a variation because I didn’t have everything on hand to make it identical. So here goes.

Rainbow Pasta Salad

Firstly it called for tri coloured pasta (didn’t have any so I just used the spiral type regular pasta)  cooked, drained and cooled. I then just put it back in the pot that I cooked it in while I chop the veggies and mix up the dressing.

Now I have seen many of these recipes but most call for italian dressing. I am not that particular for the italian dressing so here is the homemade version our family likes.

RECIPE:

a box of tri coloured pasta

cucumber, tomato and onion (chopped) and your choice of pepper (green or whatever)

sauce:

1 tsp pepper.

1/4 tsp paprika.

1/3 cup white sugar.

1/2 cup oil.

1tsp salt.

1/2 cup ketchup.

1/4 cup vinegar.

I mix this sauce in a bowl and put it aside while I cut up the veggies.

I put yellow/red/orange peppers….chopped (only about 1/2 of each of the peppers)

1/2 cucumber …chopped ( Now you can leave the skin on if you like but I prefer this time of year to peel and cut the cucumber. The skins in the spring are thick and tough so I just remove them).

1/2 cup of red onion ….chopped

pictures below are the as you make it pictures

rainbow pasta salad 1 IMG_0277

I also add Salt and lots of pepper.. about 1 tsp of pepper and 1 tsp of salt. It calls for paprika but I didn’t have it so I put a few shakes of the Lawry’s seasoned salt in it. Let’s see if anyone notices.. hehehehehe

rainbow pasta salad in bowl

all the veggies are chopped and waiting patiently for the sauce to join them in the bowl.

rainbow pasta sauce

Now here it sits with everything all dumped on top of the pasta. Now you just stir it all together

Rainbow Pasta Salad

AND THERE YOU HAVE IT. ALL MIXED. This should be made at least 4 hours before your meal or even make it the night before. The longer it sits the better it is.

So go forth and make the salad and nom nom it down!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainbow Pasta Salad

  1. MStarr says:

    Reblogged this on True North Knitting.

Leave a Reply

